The Mississippi Alliance for Arts Education (MAAE) 2016 Arts in Education Awards were presented at a special Awards reception during the MS Arts Commission Whole Schools Institute on June 8, 2016, at the MGCCC Hospitality and Resort Center in Biloxi. For more information about MAAE Arts Education Nominations, please click HERE. For more information about the Derek Pouncey Memorial Scholarship & Award, please click HERE.

2016 MAAE Award Winners and the Derek Pouncy Scholarship Winners

School of Excellence Award St. Anthony Catholic School (Madison)
School of Excellence in Arts Innovation Award Oak Grove Upper Elem School with Heather Roland, Principal (Hattiesburg)
School District of Excellence Award Tupelo Public School District
Thad Cochran Distinguished K-2 Visual Arts Educator Amy Ramsey, Madison Avenue Elementary School (Madison)
Thad Cochran Distinguished K-6 Visual Arts Educator Amanda Cashman, St. Anthony Catholic School (Madison)
Thad Cochran Distinguished Elementary Arts Integration Educator Megan Leake, St. Anthony Catholic School (Madison)
Thad Cochran Distinguished Middle Schools Arts Integration Educator Paige Satcher, Clarkdale Middle School (Meridian)
Thad Cochran Distinguished Agriculture & Art Educator Heather Giger, Oak Grove Upper Elementary School (Hattiesburg)
Thad Cochran Distinguished Media Arts Integration Educator Amanda Koonlaba, Lawhon Elementary School (Tupelo)
Outstanding Administrator of the Year Teri Edwards, K-4 Curriculum Coordinator, Lauderdale County School District (Meridian)
Excellence in Higher Education Emily Wright, Belhaven University (Jackson)

Arts Advocacy Award                                                              Gena Yarbrough, Saltillo Elementary School (Saltillo)

Exemplary Arts Service Award for an Individual              Marsha Iverson, Meridian High School (Meridian)

Exemplary Arts Service Award for an Institution              WINGS Performing Arts Program (Gulfport)

Distinguished Cultural Institution Award                          Meridian Museum of Art (Meridian)

Lifetime Achievement Award in Theatre                            Ronnie Miller (Meridian)

Lifetime Achievement Award in Dance                               Cynthia Newland, Belhaven University (Jackson)

Lifetime Achievement Award in Visual Art                         Diane Ellzey, Hattiesburg Public Schools (Hattiesburg)

Derek Pouncey Memorial Scholarship                                 Austin King (Water Valley) and Jewel Lynn Shirley